G’bye Humid DC, Hello Hilly ‘burgh

It’s been a very busy few weeks, and I imagine it will only continue to become more hectic in my life. So I’ll do my best to update this blog, but it might be a bit sporadic.

Pete and I are moving to Pittsburgh in August. I think I’ve alluded to that here and there on this blog but now I’m finally allowed to come out and say it officially. I’m leaving my job that I enjoy, leaving the nation’s capital after more than 6 years (10 for Pete), and entering into years of debt. I sometimes think I’m crazy for doing this. But I’m also ready for this; ready to go back to school. Ready to change my career and probably change our lives quite a bit.

The day before my marathon in Pittsburgh we found a perfect house in Shadyside and signed a lease on the spot. The next step is to pack up our house here and find Pete a new job. I think Fox and Taz should pick up a part time job to help out, but they won’t hear any of it. The one thing that hasn’t quite sunk in yet, but I’m sure it will in no time, is that I will be running hills. A lot. Yikes.

Speaking of running, I haven’t done much in the past month. Just 2 miles here and there. Last Friday some things happened and I found myself at 8:30pm filled with anger and rage and way too much energy. So I said, “fuck it, I’m going for a run.” And I did. And it helped. I needed a release, and truth be told this is one of the reasons I began running in the first place. I know I’m not supposed to run much right now, but I felt like I had no choice. I had to run.

So how are my legs? Um, it’s hard to say. I have a lot less pain in every day life. But I don’t feel like I’m really ready to begin running again. I would like to continue with my Graston sessions but I don’t know if that will be able to happen. Why it costs so much money to stab me in the shins with metal utensils makes no sense to me.

Sorta random, but I also wrote a book review for Jon Krakauer’s “Where Men Win Glory”. You can read it here on my mother’s website.

Lastly, I won my first contest (ever!) a few weeks ago. I’ve literally never won anything. Of course I was upstaged later that week by Kate won multiple things throughout the week, the sweetest being front row VIP seats to Bethesda’s Front Row runway show, plus tons of swag (including autographed books, and a gym membership I think). I was lucky to be her guest but I wouldn’t let her forget that I won a $25 gift certificate from Swanson Vitamins thanks to Lauren!

So what did I get with my $25 gift certificate? Quite a lot actually. Their prices were extremely reasonable, and their selection online was vast. I didn’t know where to begin. After much thought (I’m not being sarcastic, I really spent a lot of time strategizing about how to use my big prize), I settled on 3 bottles of vitamins (calcium for my bones; B-12, and D), foot cream, and an all natural bone for Fox.

My Swanson Vitamins Prize

The vitamins I needed. I used to take a multivitamin but I’ll be honest, I haven’t kept up with that habit. So it’s time to go back and help my body out.

The foot cream, well if you’ve seen my feet then you understand. I have two black toes, one worse than the other but both are pretty bad. And wheras some people get black tonenails that then fall off after a few days, mine have been known to stay on for months. Just to add to my grossness, the soles of my feet are cracked, and in some places there’s blood a bunch of layers down that just hasn’t left since a blister first brought it out. Lovely, I know. So I finally figured that maybe it’s time. And you know what? I think it’s working a little. Every night I’ve been scrubbing my feet and putting on the lotion. It smells pretty funky (peppermint-ish) but I’ve noticed a difference. The cracks are beginning to close. 

And the bone? Well, when Fox remembers he’s a dog and that dogs play with bones he loves his new one. But sometimes he just doesn’t know what to do with it. Silly dog. Overall, I’m very impressed with Swanson Vitamins and encourage you all to check them out.

http://www.swansonvitamins.com/

Twitter @SwansonVitamins

Fox and his new bone

3 Comments

Filed under running

3 responses to “G’bye Humid DC, Hello Hilly ‘burgh

  1. YAY-that is so awesome! I’m glad you got some good stuff. I love their website!

  2. Lena

    Hey!

    Just a thought- have you looked into hospital clinics or colleges in your area, for cheaper treatment?

    I go to a 4th year chiropractic student, who is doing her practicum for my graston work. It costs $17 in total. She’s about to graduate, so the only difference between seeing her in a clinic is that she had to have her supervising doctor approve the course of treatment after talking to me, and checking me over.

    Good luck!

  3. @Lena,
    That’s actually a really great idea. I hadn’t thought of that. And since I’m about to go to a grad school that has a pretty big medical center and school attached to it that might be a good avenue for me to pursue. Thanks!!!

    -Aurora

Leave a Reply

